Unbeaten Metier amongst 49 entries for 2021 Betfair Hurdle

The exciting Metier is one of 49 entries for the 2021 Grade 3 Betfair Hurdle on Saturday 13 February as part of Betfair Super Saturday at Newbury Racecourse. Amongst the entries are three Irish representatives, including the 2020 runner-up Ciel de Neige, trained by Willie Mullins who is yet to capture the contest which will be run for £125,000 this year.

Betfair Hurdle two-time winning trainer, Paul Nicholls holds six of the entries, including Solo, Thyme White, Christopher Wood, Miranda, Friend or Foe and Wild Max. Nicky Henderson who is the leading trainer for the race with five wins to his name has four entered: Buzz, Fred, Marie’s Rock and Mister Coffey.

Harry Fry enters the exciting five-year-old Metier, one of two prospective runners for the Dorset based handler, was most recently seen winning the Grade 1 Tolworth Hurdle at Sandown last weekend and could take this race in on his way to the Supreme Novices’ Hurdle at the Cheltenham Festival in March.

Fry commented, “The owner and I discussed plans after Saturday’s win and wanted to give ourselves the option of the Betfair Hurdle, as we think it’s a race that could really suit him. He will either go for that en route to Cheltenham or go straight for Cheltenham, we will just look at the entries and weights and see how the horse is in the coming weeks.

“We’ve thought for a while now that a race like the Betfair Hurdle would be right up his street, a really strongly run two-mile race on a big galloping track like Newbury, plus as an ex-flat horse we know he will handle a big field. We’ve been delighted with the progress he’s made this season and are really excited to see how far he can go over hurdles in the future, hopefully he can make a mark at the Spring Festivals.

“We’ve also entered Lightly Squeeze who was running a great race in this last year when taking a heavy fall at the last. He ran a nice race in the Betfair Exchange Trophy at Ascot last time out, so we potentially have two darts to throw at race.”

The Betfair Hurdle will be run at the value of £125,000 for 2021, showing the generous support of Betfair as sponsors, who also support the remaining six races, including the Grade 2 Betfair Denman Chase and the Grade 2 Win Bigger on the Betfair Exchange Chase (Registered as the Game Spirit).

Betfair spokesman, Barry Orr, commented today: ‘’Metier was so impressive when landing the Tolworth that it is unsurprising to see him head the betting at 6/1. He is undefeated in 3 starts now for Harry Fry and looks sure to go off favourite if he lines up’’

‘’Third Time Lucki was also impressive for the Skelton’s in a Kempton Novice Hurdle, he is currently 8/1, while Betfair Exchange Trophy runner up, Buzz, is 14/1. It’s a great list of entries which is to be expected for a £125k pot’’

Betfair Odds
Each Way 1/5 Odds 5 Places

6/1 Metier
8/1 Third Time Lucki
10/1 Cadzand, Soaring Glory
12/1 Ciel De Neige, Mister Coffey, On To Victory
14/1 Buzz, The Shunter
16/1 Albert’s Back, Ballyandy, Guard Your Dreams, Marie’s Rock, Milkwood, One True King, Shakem Up’arry, Sky Pirate, Wild Max
18/1 Fifty Ball, For Pleasure, Lightly Squeeze, Llandinabo Lad
20/1 Annual Invictus, Edwardstone, Faivoir, Friend or Foe, Galice Macalo, Glory And Fortune, Mack The Man, Mount Windsor, Sea Ducor, Thyme White, Torigni
25/1 Ballinsker, Christopher Wood, Solo
33/1 Fred, Gumball, Marlborough Sounds, Miranda, Oakley, Song of the Hunter, The Pink’n
40/1 Dans Le Vent, Highway One O Two
50/1 Blacko, Elysian Flame, Night Edition
66/1 Crooks Peak

Full List of Betfair Hurdle Entries

Animal Age Owner Trainer
Ballyandy (GB) 10 Options O Syndicate Nigel Twiston-Davies 
Buzz (FR) 7 Thurloe for Royal Marsden Cancer Charity Nicky Henderson 
Metier (IRE) 5 Mr G. C. Stevens Harry Fry 
Wild Max (GER) 6 Owners Group 036 Paul Nicholls 
Friend Or Foe (FR) 6 Gordon & Su Hall Paul Nicholls 
For Pleasure (IRE) 6 Premier Plastering (UK) Limited Alex Hales 
Fred (FR) 6 Mr Simon Munir & Mr Isaac Souede Nicky Henderson 
Third Time Lucki (IRE) 6 Mike and Eileen Newbould Dan Skelton 
Solo (FR) 5 Mrs Johnny de la Hey Paul Nicholls 
Christopher Wood (IRE) 6 Ms Sharon Kinsella Paul Nicholls 
Miranda (IRE) 6 OWNERS GROUP 034 Paul Nicholls 
Milkwood (IRE) 7 Ms J. Bridel Neil Mulholland 
Marie’s Rock (IRE) 6 Middleham Park Racing XLII Nicky Henderson 
Llandinabo Lad (GB) 6 Celia & Michael Baker Tom Symonds 
Thyme White (FR) 5 The Stewart Family Paul Nicholls 
Edwardstone (GB) 7 Robert Abrey & Ian Thurtle Alan King 
Highway One O Two (IRE) 6 Mr Anthony Ward-Thomas Chris Gordon 
Albert’s Back (GB) 7 Golden Ratio & J Blackburn Michael Easterby 
Lightly Squeeze (GB) 7 J Davies and Govier and Brown Harry Fry 
Sky Pirate (GB) 8 Mr M. Tedham Jonjo O’Neill 
Mister Coffey (FR) 6 Lady Bamford & Alice Bamford Nicky Henderson 
The Pink’n (GB) 5 Mrs P. de W. Johnson Seamus Mullins 
Oakley (IRE) 8 Tim Syder Philip Hobbs 
Shakem Up’arry (IRE) 7 Mr Harry Redknapp Ben Pauling 
Guard Your Dreams (GB) 5 Graham and Alison Jelley Nigel Twiston-Davies 
Galice Macalo (FR) 5 Culverhill Racing Club II Mrs Jane Williams 
Torigni (FR) 5 Mr Simon Munir & Mr Isaac Souede Harry Whittington 
Night Edition (FR) 5 Mr Stuart & Simon Mercer & John Gent David Pipe 
Soaring Glory (IRE) 6 Mr P. Hickey Jonjo O’Neill 
One True King (IRE) 6 Teme Valley 2 Nigel Twiston-Davies 
Marlborough Sounds (GB) 6 Vitality CBD Partners & Mr Julian Taylor Amy Murphy 
Dans Le Vent (FR) 8 R J Gambarini Racing Evan Williams 
Fifty Ball (FR) 6 Mr Steven Packham Gary Moore 
Faivoir (FR) 6 Mrs Suzanne Lawrence Dan Skelton 
Annual Invictus (IRE) 6 Mr Thomas Michael Smith Chris Gordon 
Blacko (FR) 5 Apple Tree Stud Alan King 
Ballinsker (IRE) 6 GG Thoroughbreds XII & Partner Evan Williams 
Mount Windsor (IRE) 6 Party People Chris Gordon 
On To Victory (GB) 7 HP Racing On To Victory Alan King 
Crooks Peak (GB) 8 Simon & Lisa Hobson – Crooks Peak Dan Skelton 
Song of The Hunter (FR) 7 Manhole Covers Ltd Gail Haywood 
Elysian Flame (GB) 5 Mr J Blackburn & Imperial Racing P’ship Michael Easterby 
Glory And Fortune (IRE) 6 Mr J. Hinds Tom Lacey 
Gumball (FR) 7 Mr Terry Warner Philip Hobbs 
Mack The Man (IRE) 7 Mr & Mrs William Rucker Evan Williams 
Ciel De Neige (FR) 6 Mr John P. McManus W. P. Mullins 
Sea Ducor (GB) 5 C. Jones A. L. T. Moore 
The Shunter (IRE) 8 Mr P. Byrne Emmet Mullins