Paul Nicholls’ Coral Challow Champions

The Challow Novices’ Hurdle has been running since 1970. It is a Grade 1 race open to horses that are four-year-olds or over, and run over a distance of 2 miles and 4 1/2 furlongs.

The leading trainer is currently Paul Nicholls’ with five wins on the board. We look back at those five Challow Hurdle Champions ahead of the Coral Challow Hurdle Day which takes place on Satruday 30 December 2023.



#1 – Hermes Allen

Last year it was Hermes Allen who took the Grade 1 victory rather easily with Harry Cobden on board. This gave Paul Nicholls his third successive win in this race. Harry has won the last three runnings of the Coral Challow Hurdle.

Relive last years win by clicking on the image below.



#2 – Stage Star

In 2021 it was Stage Star who scooped the win after travelling well throughout the whole race to fly home first by six and a half lengths.

This was Stage Star’s first time stepping up to Grade 1 company, where he continued his unbeaten record for trainer Paul Nicholls and jockey Harry Cobden.

To watch the replay, click the image below.



#3 – Bravemansgame

In 2020 Paul Nicholls landed the Grade 1 with Bravemansgame, his first success in the race since Denman’s victory in the 2005-2006 season.

Talking about his stable star, Nicholls compared him to Denman, saying “He’s a big scopey horse and he’s probably got a bit more boot than Denman, to be honest. It’s hard to draw comparisons really, Denman was a superstar, but at the same stage of his career, he’s heading that way.”

A top quality horse, Bravemansgame now has three Grade 1’s under his belt!

To watch the replay, click the image below.



To purchase Coral Challow Hurdle Day tickets, click here