Patrick O’Donnell triumphs in new apprentice award at Newbury

Patrick O’Donnell, apprentice to Ralph Beckett at Kimpton Down Stables in Andover, clinched the inaugural Conundrum & Newbury Racecourse Champion Apprentice Award at the course’s final Flat meeting of the season last weekend.

The award, introduced for the 2015 season and sponsored by Conundrum Consulting, rewards the apprentice who rides the most winners during the season at Newbury, with a first prize of £1,250 up for grabs.

O’Donnell rode Lear’s Rock (red and white colours, pictured right) to victory in the Berry Bros & Rudd Magnum Handicap Stakes on Friday 23 October to claim his fourth win of the season at the Berkshire track, taking him two wins clear of his closest pursuers at the time, Louis Steward and Danny Brock.


Steward and Brock ended the campaign in a three-way tie for the runners-up spot after Georgia Cox rode her second winner of the season at Newbury on The Ducking Stool in the final of the Apprentice ‘Hands and Heels’ series on Friday. The three of them will share £500, with a further £250 being donated to the Injured Jockeys’ Fund.

Andy Clifton, Head of Communications at Newbury Racecourse, commented: “We were keen to create an initiative which rewarded the hard work and dedication of apprentice jockeys and have seen some excellent rides this summer. Our congratulations go to Patrick on a fine season.”

Paul Struthers, Chief Executive of the Professional Jockeys’ Association, said: “This was a very welcome addition to Newbury’s flat season and I’d like to thank the team at the racecourse and the sponsor Conundrum for putting the Apprentice award on. My congratulations also go to Patrick, who has done extremely well to ride four winners there.”

O’Donnell is due to be presented with his award later this year. The final standings of the award can be viewed below.


Jockey 1st 2nd 3rd
Patrick O’Donnell 4 1
Louis Steward 2
Georgia Cox 2
Danny Brock 2
Tom Marquand 1 2 2
Rob Hornby 1 1
Philip Prince 1 1
Cam Hardie 1 1
Megan Nicholls 1
Rob J Fitzpatrick 1
Eddie Greatrex 1
Alistair Rawlinson 1
Gary Mahon 3 3
Paddy Pilley 1 1
Kieran Shoemark 1 1
Daniel Cremin 1 1
Sean Mooney 1
Charlie Bennett 1
Tim Clark 1
George Blackwell 1
Rhiain Ingram 1
Chris Meehan 1
Ryan Powell 1
Kevin Stott 1
Paddy Bradley 1
Declan Bates 1
Jenny Powell 1
Cameron Noble 1
Josh Quinn 1