Newbury Racecourse reveals changes to its Jump racing programme as 2016 fixture list is revealed

Newbury Racecourse today announced a significant change to the make-up of its Jump racing programme, as the British Horseracing Authority released details of the 2016 fixture list.

Newbury will hold 29 thoroughbred race days next year, with 11 Jump fixtures and 18 Flat fixtures, but the most significant change will come in November, when the bet365 Festival, featuring the Hennessy Gold Cup, will be reduced to a two-day Friday and Saturday meeting. The raceday currently held on the Thursday of that week will now be held three weeks earlier, starting the Jump season at the Berkshire track in early November.

Explaining the decision, Newbury Racecourse Chief Executive Julian Thick said: “We are really pleased about the possibilities that this change will bring about.

“A two-day bet365 Festival, featuring the Hennessy Gold Cup on the Saturday, allows us to stage two days of top quality racing and to build up interest in and attendance on the Friday.

“In addition, a single day meeting, three weeks beforehand, makes a lot of sense as a way to launch our Jump season and creates an ideal opportunity to promote the bigger days ahead.”

The Newbury Racecourse 2016 Fixture list is as follows:

JUMP

Wednesday 20 January

Saturday 13 February – Betfair Super Saturday

Friday 4 March – Mencap Charity Raceday

Saturday 5 March – Greatwood Charity Raceday

Friday 1 April

Saturday 2 April

FLAT

Friday 15 April – Dubai Duty Free Spring Trials Weekend

Saturday 16 April – Dubai Duty Free Spring Trials Weekend

Friday 13 May – Starlight Charity Raceday

Saturday 14 May – Al Shaqab Lockinge Day

Thursday 9 June

Thursday 23 June (eve) – Pump Technology Race Evening

Thursday 30 June (eve)

Thursday 7 July (eve)

Friday 15 July

Saturday 16 July – Weatherbys Super Sprint Day

Thursday 21 July (eve)

Friday 12 August

Saturday 13 August – Betfred Ladies Day

Tuesday 23 August (eve) – HEROS 10th Anniversary Race Evening

Friday 16 September – Dubai Duty Free International Weekend

Saturday 17 September – Dubai Duty Free International Weekend

Friday 21 October

Saturday 22 October – Worthington’s Armed Forces Day

JUMP

Thursday 3 November – The bet365 Festival Preview Meeting

Friday 25 November – The bet365 Festival

Saturday 26 November – The bet365 Festival featuring the Hennessy Gold Cup

Wednesday 14 December

Saturday 31 December – Betfred Challow Hurdle Day

page.php